Thanksgiving Wish

Thanksgiving has quietly and unobtrusively become my favorite holiday.  Thanksgiving is like the quieter, less flamboyant sibling among the holidays: no gaudy lights or flashy decorations, no fanciful stories of being good or else not getting loads of presents, no elaborate costumes or seasonal songs played over and over on the radio.

Of course, we have taken a holiday focused on gratitude and completely perverted it by forcing upon it an obsessive focus of binge-style shopping, mindlessly wrestling each other at special sales to make sure the traditional gimme-gimme-gimme mentality doesn’t miss a single day.

That is not the meaning or the heart of Thanksgiving for me.  Keep your ridiculous Black Friday sales and frantic, material quest for more and more stuff.  That is not important to me.

I am grateful that I will be spending the day with Gary.  I am grateful that we held onto each other even when the road got rough, and that we came through it loving each other more than ever.

I am grateful that we can provide a safe and happy place for the kids and be there for them when they need to laugh, cry, talk or just escape.

I am grateful for my family, after so many hateful attempts to tear us apart.

I am grateful that the endless selfishness and pettiness of others have never eroded me or Gary; they have done nothing but drive us to remain better than that, better than them.

Happy Thanksgiving (okay, a few days early!)  My wish to everyone is that the day is full of love, gratitude, and happiness…not credit cards, receipts, and shopping bags.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in holidays, thankfulness, Thanksgiving. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving Wish

  1. Amy says:

    I’m thankful to have to have found the friends that I have thru blogging.

    Hope you and Gary and the kids have a great Thanksgiving!

  2. Happy Thanksgiving day, Smirking Cat! I hope you enjoy your day with Gary. 🙂

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

