Getting Away

St. George Island Beach 5Usually, my spontaneous ideas turn out to be something I ultimately regret.  Not this one.  When Gary and I decided at the last minute to get away this past weekend, all we really had was a confirmation number, directions on his phone’s GPS, and high hopes for a good weekend.

It was beyond good.  I enjoyed every minute, including the drive there and back, singing to the radio and joking around.  We checked in just long enough to watch the water and boats from our balcony, then we set off to explore.

My phone had no signal the entire weekend, and I didn’t mind a bit.  I joked that my phone was now a glorified camera.  Gary picked on me about it, since his phone held a strong signal the entire time we were away, and he teasingly asked if I needed to borrow his phone to check my voice mail and e-mail.  I said no.  Being unplugged and tuned out from anyone else was a good thing.  I let it stay that way.

We came back with a ton of pictures, something for each of us while we were wandering and shopping, and some new, beautiful memories.  And a few new inside jokes from getting straight-up goofy over the weekend!

We rarely indulge in trips, vacations, and getaways, preferring to be practical and to spend trips like that with the kids.  But I am glad we chose to treat ourselves this weekend.  I keep scrolling through the pictures on my phone, smiling, and my brain isn’t quite back at work yet this morning.  My brain is still laughing at Gary being silly, watching the water while we eat breakfast outside, listening to gentle waves, and holding his hand while we see what we can see.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in fun, getaway, love, memories, romance, time together, weekend. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Getting Away

  1. That sounds like a great weekend! I’m not good at being spontaneous… so I greatly admire those that can do it!

  2. I’m usually not either! I like to have everything planned down to the last detail, so it was nice just cutting loose and seeing what happened naturally. It was a lot of fun!

  3. Sounds like a nice weekend. Good for you guys for getting away.

  4. Amy says:

    Sounds like it was a good idea

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

