Time Together

After not seeing each other for three weeks, the kids steamrolled into the house like laughing, giddy, smiling hurricanes, with time to make up for.  One evening, I was debating whether to head to the gym for some extra workout time after I finished an exercise video at home.  I was sitting on the couch, basically talking to myself when I muttered, “Do I feel like going to the gym?”

Sunflower answered for me right away.  “No,” she said emphatically.  “We will miss time together if you go.”

Who could argue with that?  I skipped the gym, got on the floor, and played with them instead.  I can always make up time at the gym later.  I can’t make up time with the kids.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in family, kids, love, weekend. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time Together

  1. that’s awesome! I didn’t see Mr. T much over the weekend, but we made up for it on the Monday holiday. Makes my heart happy to hear your story today!

  2. Amy K says:

    Love the sentiment!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

