Coke and a Peanut Butter Cup

PB cupThis morning, on the way to drop me off at work, Gary stopped at the store so I could run inside and buy my crack (otherwise known as Coca Cola, to the civilized, unaddicted population).  The line in the store was outrageous, so I gave up, went back to the car, and told Gary we didn’t have time to wait for that line or he’d be late for class.

When I got out of the car at work, I made a joke about going into soda withdrawal.  Then I kissed him good-bye and went inside, locking the office suite door behind me since it was early and I was the only one in the office so far.

I was sitting in my office about 15 minutes later when I heard the front doorbell ring.  I stood up, curious.  It was too early to be any of my co-workers or a client.  Must be Fed Ex, I decided.

No, it wasn’t Fed Ex.  Standing in the dark hallway, waiting for me to open the door, was Gary. When I unlocked and opened the door, he handed me a small bag, gave me a kiss, and left for class.

Inside the small bag was a Coke (the little bottle, since I am cutting back…he remembered!) and a peanut butter cup.

I smiled.  There is no doubt he was quite late to class, but he made sure I was happy.

Some ladies have a liking for wildly expensive rose bouquets or overpriced jewelry, believing a price tag is a measure of love.  Nothing means more to me, though, than moments like this morning when Gary took the time to think of me and take care of me.  I like to think he knows much I appreciate and love him.  This might be a good time to tell him and be sure he knows it.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Gary, grateful, love. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Coke and a Peanut Butter Cup

  1. oh man, that’s so amazing!! Nothing better than someone who knows you and is there for you like that!!

  2. Amy K says:

    That is the sweetest thing! What a considerate guy you have. 🙂

  3. Karaboo says:

    It really IS the little things isn’t it? And we love our guys so much because of those little things.

    My Hun will bring me my crack (aka Dr Pepper) and present it to me with bowed head and bended knee like he’s presenting royalty with their crown jewels. I admit – he treats me like a princess!

  4. eduncan says:

    Nothing is better than your guy showing you they care through the little things. My hubs brings me my caffeine free D.P. (my allowed crack while pregnant) and something chocolate when I’m working every afternoon. I LOVE it!

  5. cassee01 says:

    awwwwwwwwww what a sweetie!

  6. Silent Scribbler says:

    Just read this. It is so sweet. You have a keeper.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

