Birthday

cat cakeEarlier this week, I celebrated my birthday.  (Mental note: ask for the day off work next year!)  On second thought, it wasn’t a half-bad day at the office: I was excited to receive not only flowers, but a gift basket and cards, and not long after I got home from work, the kids called to sing happy birthday.  Sunflower even sang while doing a split, which amused and greatly impressed me.

Later, Gary took me out for the evening, and I opened my birthday card after we got home.  As usual, it was something that made me laugh.  Inside, though, he wrote something that made me stop and think.  He wrote that he wished he could do more for my birthday.

More?  What more could I want?  I woke up to his lovely, dramatic, operatic rendition of “happy birthday”, complete with dance moves.  Gary texted me all day, joking around, letting me know he loves me, smartass and silly exchanges that only the two us would understand.  I talked to the kids, who also sang to me, and I spent a fun evening out with Gary.  I felt happy and loved.   What could have topped that?

I am glad he thinks I deserved more for my birthday, but I don’t like the idea of him thinking he fell short somehow.  I enjoyed my day very much and looked forward all day to spending the evening with him.

Now…if I can only distract him and the kids this weekend so they forget all about our birthday spankings tradition!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in birthday, Gary, kids, love. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Birthday

  1. Happy Belated Birthday!! It sounds like it was wonderful!

  2. Amy says:

    A belated Happy Birthday my friend! Sounds like a perfect day to me 🙂

  3. Karaboo says:

    Happy Birthday!!! What a wonderful day – I am (slightly) jealous!

  4. Silent Scribbler says:

    Sorry this is a bit late; happy belated birthday. Sounds like you had a good one. 🙂

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

