Pre-Season Bomb

SteelersBeing a near lifelong, die-hard hockey fan, I never completely understood the allure of football.  What was the point to watching anything that didn’t involve face-offs and checking?  Then, watching football with Gary (a.k.a, the world’s biggest football fan, especially college football), I found myself gradually warming up to the game.

Last year I became a bona fide football fan when I found myself tracking the schedule, scores, and stats of the Pittsburgh Steelers, and swearing and yelling my way through games.  This season, I prepared by adding all the Steelers games to my phone’s calendar, complete with reminders.

And how is my newfound and loyal devotion repaid?  By the Steelers bombing all three pre-season games played so far.

At least the Steelers-Chiefs game went into overtime and had an element of excitement and suspense.  I’m too new to football to know if that reflects an actual improvement on the Steelers’ part or if the Chiefs just aren’t very good.  I hope it’s the former.

One more pre-season game left: Thursday against the Panthers.  Can we win at least one before heading into the regular season?

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in football, Pittsburgh Steelers. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pre-Season Bomb

  1. LOL!! What you have to keep telling yourself is “preseason doesn’t count – preseason doesn’t count!!”

    • The Steelers’ quarterback made a comment after the Redskins game that they are saving up all their touchdowns for the regular season. In that case, they should have plenty stored up!

  2. Amy says:

    Preseason they play back up quarterbacks and back up players and give 2nd and 3rd string players playing time. So you don’t usually see the team how they’ll look or play during the season. So, I don’t think you need to worry yet.

    I hope your football team does better than your hockey team did. Well, unless they’re playing MY football team at least. 😉

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

