Lightning Bling

Well, it was nice while it lasted.  My Tampa Bay Lightning, who have tormented me for the past ten years by playing like they have never seen a hockey puck before, finally got their acts together and reached #1 in the NHL…until the infuriating, maddening, unbelievable loss to the #29-ranked Columbus Blue Jackets last week.  Add another loss to the Washington Capitals, and now my Lightning are #5.

The Lightning were nearly shut out during that Columbus game, squeaking out one pitiful goal before the game ended, just enough to say they at least were not shut out.  I was so angry after that loss that I could barely speak, and just ask Gary what a rarity that is!  Lightning coach Joe Cooper and many players had similar comments after that game, how there are no easy games in this league, how the night just didn’t go their way, blah blah blah, but it all comes down to the #1 team losing pathetically to the second-to-worst team in the league.  I can’t fathom a good excuse for that.

Here is something else I cannot fathom: why would anyone in their right mind pay $79 for a hockey sweater this horrifically hideous?

tampa-bay-lightning-nhl-ugly-sweater-wordmark-37

I love the Lightning (when I am not cursing at them for losing a game they should not have lost), but seriously, people, you would have a hell of a hard time getting me to wear that sweater, whether is has Lightning emblazoned across the front or not.
Etsy shop owner SCBeachBling created a design more my speed:

Lightning earrings

Hockey, my Lightning, sparkle, and hoops, all rolled into one!  Sign me up.

I have posted this necklace before, but it deserves another mention:

Lightning Necklace

There you go, your holiday shopping for Lightning fans who like sparkly things is all done!  You’re welcome.  Just don’t, whatever you do, bring up that awful Columbus game.  Let’s pretend it never happened.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in hockey, shopping, Tampa Bay Lightning. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lightning Bling

  1. Love the sparkle and bling! Sorry about all of the other – I feel your pain!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

