Nine Years

bb89b369bdb5dd3542fc239fec3ad97eTomorrow marks a very special day: tomorrow will be 9 years since Gary and I set out on our first date.  Nine years since the evening that brought both us together and ended with us hopelessly hooked on each other, even though both of us fought it at first.  We were both fresh out of horrible relationships and not at all ready to make another go at it.

I’m glad we did.  I’m glad we found each other, glad we took a chance on each other.

I could write so much, since we’ve been through so much over the past nine years.  But I don’t want this post to be about that.  It is about us, our love, our lives together.

If, nine years ago, I would have turned my back and taken the simpler route, stayed single, walked away from Gary, I would have missed out on so much.  I would have let my best friend slip out of my life.

I don’t think many people expected us to last.  We had too much stacked against us, too many obstacles in front of us, both us licking wounds from the past.  Maybe we are the most surprised to come out swinging nine years later, still together, and more important, still wanting to be together.

Then again, maybe we’re not surprised at all.  I’m not.  Both of us are wickedly honest, strong-willed, loyal, and headstrong. I came to realize we could make it if we wanted to.  When we danced toward each other and then backed away at the beginning, over and over again, only to come back together like we couldn’t help it, I knew I wanted this loud, stubborn, funny, loving man in my life.  I knew it came with a risk (what relationship doesn’t?), but I knew I wanted to take it.

Happy anniversary, Gary!  Nine years later, I still want to be at your side.  Let’s see what trouble we can get into over the next 9 years.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in anniversary, Gary, love, nine years. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nine Years

  1. Apparently, I can’t count! Gary kindly informed me last night that this is our 9th anniversary, not 10th, so I edited my post 🙂 Thanks, Gary, for keeping me straight!

  2. Amy says:

    Belated happy Anniversary! So sorry I’m so late! Best wishes to you both 🙂

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

