Whoops!

Apparently, counting is not one of my strong suits.  I would have bet my life that this year is our 10-year anniversary, and I even wrote “happy 10th anniversary” in my boyfriend’s card.  He kindly informed me last night that this is, in fact, nine years!  I calmly and graciously corrected him, and he calmly and graciously laughed and told me again it’s been 9 years, not 10.  Turns out he is right, and I felt a bit foolish for not getting the years right!

Since we are going out this evening and won’t be home until late, especially with an hour drive back from the town where the kids live now, I set the alarm for an early morning gym date this morning.  It didn’t happen, but before you roll your eyes at me, know this: my boyfriend woke me up at 3 AM with his tossing and turning like a fish in the bottom of a boat, and when the alarm went off at 5:30, I could barely lift my eyelids.  I reset the alarm for another precious hour or so of much-needed sleep.

So it’s indisputably his fault, ha ha.  I am a little nervous that skipping a workout today will mean bad news on weigh day, but I will work hard this week and track all my food and still aim for a loss to finish off the month.

Last night I did an hour-long Les Mills Combat class, and I must be getting stronger, because the last time I did that workout, I hit a wall with 20 minutes to go.  I gasped, huffed, stumbled, groaned, and cursed my way through those last 20 minutes.  Last night it was still definitely a challenge, but I didn’t feel like I needed to have 911 on speed dial or ask my boyfriend to call a priest for my last rites.  Every improvement is a step in the right direction!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in anniversary, morning workout. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Whoops!

  1. MaryFran says:

    Sometimes we have to listen to our bodies and of what they need…which is sleep sometimes! You skipped the workout and you have a plan in place to make up for that loss. Stay focused and you will rock the week!!!!!!

  2. Mrs. O says:

    “I didn't feel like I needed to have 911 on speed dial or ask my boyfriend to call a priest for my last rites” You're too funny!! 😀

    I know how it feels after an intense workout. When I've done that, I can barely get out of bed the next morning! Your body is obviously getting stronger if you can endure for longer. Good work!

  3. Nice work! Combat is a tough one!!

  4. MandaPanda says:

    Sometimes the rest is much more needed than the workout. You should just tell him that it FEELS like 10 years. LOL.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

