Fair Food

Fair_EveningDoes the county fair exist for any reason whatsoever besides eating artery-clogging, heart-stopping, deep-fried monstrositites passed off as digestible food?  Gary and I always buy the wrist bands for the kids to ride rides all night, but to be honest, as soon as we step foot past the ticket booth, I’m just ready to hunt down some sugar-laden evilness.

Since sickeningly sweet and fried food doesn’t play well with rides that twirl and spin you around until you barf, I wisely chose not to ride anything when we recently hit the fair.  That, and I get motion sickness mostly just by turning by head.  I love the Tilt-a-Whirl, but I think my days of riding it repeatedly are long over.  I wisely stepped into the role of fair photographer and got a ton of pictures instead.

Dove stepped up to try her hand at one of the games.  The person working the booth told her it cost $3.

Her face dropped, and in a sad, disappointed tone, she said, “I don’t have three dollars.”

She turned to me and added, “I only have ten dollars.”

Okay, I believe I’ve mentioned the kids’ abysmal school district in Hickville.  I will chalk up her confusion to that.  We laughed and redirected her back to the game with her ten-but-not-three dollars, and she won a tiny stuffed dog for her efforts.

The night went quickly, and as planned, it included some steak-on-a-stick and ice cream.  When we were spun, twisted, whirled, and fed to our hearts’ content, we gathered up the tired kids and all their hard-won stuffed animals and toys, and we headed home.

I have a pretty high threshhold for sugary foods, given years of hopeless addiction to Coke (the soda, that is), but even I slammed on the brakes when I saw this:

img_4316_0

A burger made with doughnuts instead of a bun?  I feel nauseated just thinking of one, let alone eating one.  Why not just go ahead set up a Tums and Pepto Booth booth nearby?  I have a feeling it would be much-needed!

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in fair, family, fun, kids. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fair Food

  1. bellaball says:

    Hey that happened to me last year. Was on a ride I always ride – and started to get sick – I mean I had to hold it in it was bad — I have never ever done that!!! Crap so that does mean we are getting old!!!

  2. Amy says:

    A donut burger sounds absolutely disgusting!
    Glad that Yall had a good time at your fair!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

