No Longer My Boyfriend

I need to update my Cast of Characters page, because of as January 1, Gary is no longer my boyfriend. Say what?  Relax.  He is still a cast member in this crazy little menagerie of my life.  It’s just that, after the midnight drop to one knee, he is now my fiance instead.

Because, in case you haven’t figured it already, I said “yes”.

The kids were with us for New Year’s Eve, so they got to be in on it.  I handed out champagne glasses full of hyper-fizzy sparkling grape juice, and after we chugged our first round, Gary and the kids simultaneously dropped to one knee.  I was so sleep deprived, I thought the gesture had something vaguely to do with Alabama winning the football game earlier that day, so I started to wander over to drop to one knee also.  Gary stopped me from making a complete fool of myself by pulling the ring out from behind his back, just before I shrieked “Roll Tide!” and wildly threw a fist into the air.

After more than nine years together, and after the “When are you getting married?” questions had dried up, we decided to go for it.  We always have liked to do things our own way.

images (1)

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Happy New Year, kids, love, proposal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No Longer My Boyfriend

  1. I almost choked I inhaled so hard at the opening line!!! What a way to capture attention!!! LOL

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! I am so very happy for you, for Gary, and that the kids got to be a part of it!! My heart overflows for you today!!

  2. kimberlykimono says:

    um, i love this story. so many congrats to you. ❤

  3. Amy says:

    Congrats!! I’m so happy for both of you!!!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

