Where Have They Gone?

When I first started this blog, I wrote fast and furious, frantic and ferocious, venting and complaining and ranting, hashing over the joys (ahem) of dealing with a jealous, self-absorbed womb-for-rent who refused to let go of a man who considers her, at best, as part of the forgotten trash on the curb.  It seemed like there were a million bloggers back then, and we read each other’s daily diatribes and commented our support, until it felt like these people should be on my Christmas card list.

That was 9 years ago.  I wrote the first words on Smirking Cat on October 26, 2007.  That seems like a hundred years ago!  The more things change, the more they stay the same.  So much has happened since then, yet one constant through it all, like a shining beacon of mental imbalance, is Crow acting like a deranged bitch.  Well, give her points for being consistent, eh?

I don’t know if the blogging trend has just tapered, or if I am just quite terrible at keeping in touch.  Probably a mix of both.  I don’t know where most of the bloggers went who used to comment here, and most of their links are broken or their blogs haven’t been updated for years.  I wonder where they are and how they are doing.  It would be nice to hear from some of them, if they ever happen to wander this way again.

I’ve been terribly inconsistent writing here, for a lot of reasons, so I’m not surprised to have lost that connection with other writers.  My blog started as one thing and has gradually shifted to another, and I’m cool with that.  It is what I need it to be, for where I am.  I miss the online community and would like to build that back up again, if it’s still there to come back to.  If not, I will just view my blog as a place to record my random thoughts and opinions (of which I have many) and hope that it may entertain someone else along the way.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in bloggers, change, friends, support, time, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Where Have They Gone?

  1. bellaball says:

    I’m one of those who stay in the background but I know what you mean I use to read a whole bunch of blogs and I always wonder whatever happened to them. I only keep up with about 8 now.
    Yours as you can see is one of them!!!

  2. Honestly, I just did a big declutter and unfollowed a lot of blogs – some just didn’t speak to me anymore, there wasn’t any mutual ground in common, and some, well, I loved the blog, but they complained too much about items that I couldn’t really get behind! I’m seriously considering closing out my blog, too… trying to decide if I stay reading other blogs or just move on… :/

  3. It doesn’t seem as popular anymore to blog, although I still enjoy it when I have time and when I remember to do it!

  4. stevie0018 says:

    “The more things change, the more they stay the same.” I love this statement!

    …I feel like the trend of blogging tapered off …but I’m sure if you’re consistent again you can accumulate a handful of readers and blogs you enjoy to read too. Good luck.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

