Losing a Pet

losing-a-dogIt’s not hard to see from where I get my spoiling-my-pets tendencies.  My mom has a small, white Bichon, and if you aren’t sure exactly what that is, imagine a fuzzy, white cotton ball that has exploded to the size of a stuffed puppy that can bark.  Endlessly. There you go!

Let’s just say that my mother’s dog has its own wardrobe.  Sure, they live where it snows seemingly endlessly, but does a dog really need an assortment of stylish sweaters?  Probably no more than my cats need an entire basket bursting with toys or a drug dealer-sized supply of catnip, I suppose, but we all have our own ways to spoil our pets rotten.

This past week, my mom called me, crying so hard that I could barely understand what she was saying.  Her dog had been sick, and he died that day.  I felt tears spring to my eyes instantly in sympathy.  I’ve had pets my entire life, and I know it hurts like hell to lose them.

She told me someone had already asked her if she will get another dog.  I had to resist the temptation to ask for that person’s name and last known location so that I could find them and punch them dead in the kidneys.  What an idiotic, stupid, moronic thing to say.  If someone’s child had just died, would you blurt out, “Why don’t you just have another kid?” Of course, given the intellectual capability of most people these days, I am quite certain that actually has happened.

I get that some people aren’t animal lovers.  They are called “assholes”.  Seriously, if someone hates animals, I need to keep a distance, because it’s a huge red flag that there is something woefully and unfixably wrong with that person.  Not everyone has to be a card-carrying animal lover….oh, never mind, I’ll stop there.  Who am I kidding?  If you don’t love animals, we have nothing to talk about.

No one has ever quite dared to say “It’s just a cat” when one of my cats has died.   I don’t recommend it either.  My cats are better than most people I know, and far superior companions than many humans.  I can quickly detect when I am talking to someone who gets the heartache of losing a pet and someone who doesn’t understand what the big deal is.  It’s best to immediately cease all contact with the latter, because they are hopeless.

I struggled for words for my mom, but there’s nothing that can be said that can even start to soothe that pain.  Animals are our friends, family, buddies, companions.  They are happy to see us, happy to spend time with us, demanding at times yet so willing to offer up their affection and love that we have to forgive them.  They’re funny, comforting, loving.  When that is taken away, there’s a massive hole left that gapes and hurts.

The best advice I was ever given was after my Tweetie died, and I felt like my whole world was shattered. Gary told me not to focus on the end, when Tweetie was sick, but when he was healthy, funny things he did, memories that made me laugh.  I told my mom what he said, and she is starting a photo album of funny pictures of her dog.

He was a mini-mutt who imagined himself to be a great beast of wondrous might.  Heaven help the errant squirrel or blowing leaf that dared to move in the yard without his permission, lest they be subject to his ferocious barking and then parking himself stubbornly on the arm of the sofa to keep watch over the yard for any further disturbances.

My mom said the house is so quiet now, and I imagine it is, because for such a small dog, he definitely made his presence known.  Now, his absence is known as well, and in that, I only hope that memories help in some small way to ease her heartache just a little bit.

cdc6c5cdd51696170601871083df6254

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in cats, dog, love, pets. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Losing a Pet

  1. bellaball says:

    Oh I completely understand.
    Been a hard few years in my house.
    7 years ago Squeak (runt shitzu) killed by neighbors dog on 23rd of December.
    3 years ago Snuggles died on 23rd of December.
    8 months ago Lucky (son’s dog who just left for first year of college) very quickly – stomach worms – go figure.
    4 months ago KC – oldest dog 15 years old had to take her to vet Christmas Eve to be put to sleep – could not walk – think she had a stroke.
    I have all of there remains in boxes with their names on them.
    So yes I am a very big animal lover!!

    Now I did mess up and got Bella right after I lost Squeak – to soon. But I was having a hard time. She was like a baby to me.

    Miss them all so much.

    Have two cats and Bella (Yorkie) and Notch (lab puppy – 8 months old)

  2. Oh no! I’m so sorry for y’alls loss. 😦

  3. Mrs. O says:

    I know how broken-hearted your mom must be and I’m so sorry for her. Our animals become part of our family and their loss is felt very deeply. I think your suggestion was a good one and it’ll bring your mom happy tears each time she looks through her scrapbook. (And there are stupid idiotic moronic people that said to me “well, you’re still young, you can have another one” when my child died without realizing that no, I couldn’t. Stupid f**ks!!)

  4. Lynn says:

    I lost two cats in one year. One was 17 and the other 15 and they had been with me through a lot. It leaves a hole in your heart. I don’t trust people who say they don’t like cats. They don’t know all cats. Cats are wonderful!

  5. Amy says:

    I love my fur babies. For my birthday, my kids bought me a dog paw leash hanger and a puppy photo frame for my Baby Girl (69 pound lap dog thinks shes a chihuahua). She’s only 2 and I can’t imagine losing her and if someone asked me about replacing her when she goes – a kidney punch might be the least of their problems. 😉

    So sorry for your mom’s loss!

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

