Junk Mail

Have you ever heard of the Southern Poverty Law Center? I never had until I received a thick letter in the mail the other day.  Sounds like a decent, charitable company doing good, humanitarian work, right?  I thought so until I started reading the letter.

The mailing consisted of a 4-page letter, no images, just walls of tiny text, plus a poster-sized insert and a wordy reply slip.  I will spare you from trudging through the long-winded letter and bombastic inserts, and I’ll give you the Cliffs Notes version.

Basically, this letter, signed by Morris Dees, Chief Trial Attorney, starts right off the bat blaming Donald Trump’s presidential campaign for white supremacist harassment and hate crimes, citing tear-jerker stories of questionable origin, such as a Muslim girl clinging frantically to her kindergarten teacher, wailing about whether she is safe now that Trump is on the loose.  Mr. Dees reports several other uncited and unsupported examples of meanie white people terrorizing black or Muslim children, apparently thrusting a white fist into the air and screaming that Donald Trump sent them, if we are to believe Mr. Dees’ blantantly anti-Trump rhetoric.

According to Mr. Dees, only white people are capable of harassing others or of carrying out violent acts or making threats.  I suppose he doesn’t own a television set, doesn’t puruse the daily news, or doesn’t leave the safe space of his typewriter, as these are the only explanations for his baffling conclusions.

The enclosed poster-sized, glossy insert blasts the words “WHITE SUPREMACISTS CELEBRATE TRUMP’S VICTORY”, and the reply slip (demanding a donation, of course) also highlights Donald Trump’s name.  I’m starting to think Donald Trump should consider a restraining order against Morris Dees, since his obsession with him borders on the same psychotic level as Crow’s fixation on me.

I typically read junk mail and toss it into recycling without a second thought, but I decided that this one practically begged for a reply.  The letter and materials were disturbing with one-sided, close-minded repetition of the same inflammatory phrases, ad nauseam.

Without further ado, here is the letter I mailed in reply:

Morris Dees
Founder and Chief Trial Attorney
Southern Poverty Law Center
400 Washington Ave.
Montgomery, AL  36177-9621

Dear Mr. Dees:

I don’t know how I ended up on your mailing list, but I received your dramatic appeal for funds to “fight back against the hate and bigotry unleashed by Donald Trump’s campaign…”  Your lengthy letter and materials used the phrase “white supremacist” no less than 6 times and the word “hate” an astounding 22 times.

Nowhere in these materials, however, did I find a defensible connection between Donald Trump and the litany of crimes you chose to highlight.  Do you insult me by pretending that racism did not exist during Obama’s presidency?  Applying your own argument that Donald Trump’s “energy” has had “predictable results”, then shouldn’t we conclude that black criminals shooting white police officers are the predictable result of the divisive and polarizing vulgarities of the Obama administration?  If you are going to steadfastly pin responsibility for all crimes against non-white people on Donald Trump, then shouldn’t we assign fault to Obama for the black kidnappers in Chicago who beat a mentally-disabled white man and were so proud of their actions, and so certain of their freedom from sanction, that they videotaped it and posted it on Facebook?

Undeniably, this country has problems.  Donald Trump did not cause them.  Your letter saddened me because banal oversimplification instead of effective action will keep this nation faltering.  Your rabid, close-minded monotone about the evil white man and the victimized black man is far more damaging to our country than people hoping for much-needed change by voting for a businessman instead of another overtly self-serving politician.

I can only speculate about your intentions for mass mailing a fear-mongering, racially-dividing letter, or why you pretend that only white people are capable of racist acts.  Nothing I come up with is flattering to you or your organization.

Please immediately remove me from your mailing list.  Letters like yours, expounding an attitude like yours, are a colossal part of this country’s problem, and most definitely not contributing to a solution.  Perhaps you can begin your noble fight against hate by eliminating the flagrant hatred in your own mailings.

Sincerely,

The Smirking Cat

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Junk Mail

  1. Amy says:

    Amen! I read a blog the other day where the author was writing about how she was in “tears” over losing poor dear saintly Obama who she had on a pedestal of moral values and how Trump was going to ruin all the “good” Obama did because Trump was such a “hate monger and the devil come to life” and he would just “destroy” the country and all of Obamas good deeds”. As one of the forgotten deplorables – for the first time in at least 7 years, I now have hope. Maybe … just maybe… a businessman can do what needs done and fix the mess that Obama created. Maybe I can afford to live again … Wouldn’t that be nice

  2. I did not vote for Obama, but not once during his presidency did I claim he was not my president, or insult or undermine this country by looting, rioting, or any other criminal act in the supposed name of protest. I protested by voting for a different candidate. Watching anti-Trump people practically salivate at the prospect of his failure is horrifying. When did the greater good of this country become not worth fighting for?

    • Amy says:

      Amen! It’s like hoping for the plane you’re on to crash into the ground. I never said Obama wasn’t my president (unfortunately and factually he was) – I just bit down and tried to wait it out. I am just hoping to see some relief from some of the things that have killed my family financially

  3. bellaball says:

    OMG – I hope he responds! Let us know if he does! Oh and I agree with everything you said!

  4. Kimberly Yau says:

    definitely surprised to read this. while the cheeto may not have caused these problems, he has only increased them tenfold.

  5. I obviously don’t agree. He’s an easy scapegoat, and nothing more. Somewhere between any extremes has to be a logical, rational landing place for critical thinking, because no solution will be found anywhere else.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

