Over-Parenting

Some things never change.  Last weekend, Bear showed up with broken glasses for the second time in less than a year.  Last time, Gary and I graciously pointed out that the eye doctor we take him to has a branch in Hickville, walking distance to their school.  I even copied all the paperwork Crow would need, including the receipt that proved Gary paid for the protection plan, since Lord knows Crow would let the boy go blind before she dropped a penny on his health care.  I looked up the branch near their house, wrote down the address and phone number, and called them so I could also write down their hours.

Idiot-proof, right?  Maybe, but certainly not worthless-egg-donor-proof.  When Bear showed up with broken glasses again, we naturally wondered why Crow hadn’t already taken a few moments to use the protection plan and get the glasses fixed.  Her excuse?

“Mama said she doesn’t have the paperwork,” Bear meekly explained.

Do you know how much restraint it took not to roll my eyes until they spun right out of my head?  If Crow would at least be honest and say she can’t be bothered to help Bear take care of his glasses,  I could at least accept that.  Lying about it, lying to the kids, on top of being worthless, is a bit too much for me to swallow.

Not long after the kids were dropped off, we noticed that Dove and Sunflower’s fingernails were broken, jagged, and uneven.  I asked why they didn’t file their nails in Hickville, and I got the deer-in-the-headlights, frozen stare from both of them, as if that had never occurred to them.  When I went grocery shopping, I picked up a handful of nail files, enough for them to keep some here and take some back to Hickville, where apparently nail files are in short supply.

To top it off, when we asked Bear why he got a few zeros in school for work not turned in, he told us the binder he keeps his school papers in broke, and he lost some of the assignments that were in it.  Crow responded to the need for a new binder just like she did the glasses and fingernails: she did absolutely nothing.  She claimed she couldn’t find a binder at Walmart.  I’m guessing that is because she never looked, since it wasn’t for herself.

I picked up the needed binder at Walmart (so they DO carry them!), and the kids went back to Hickville loaded up with emery boards, a binder, and new glasses.  Just another weekend of over-parenting to make up for Crow’s complete and utter lack of it.

About TheSmirkingCat

I am endlessly trying to make sense of a world that has completely and unapologetically lost its mind.
This entry was posted in bad mother, better than her, can't make the bitch be a good parent, neglect, weekend. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Over-Parenting

  1. bellaball says:

    I think you have more restraint then I have! Wait crap I let my mother in law walk all over me – why can’t we stand up to them!!!!! My kids are now out of high school so she doesn’t bother me near as much.

    • After more than 10 years, it’s not really a matter of standing up to Crow. She does not intimidate me in the least. No one who is pushing 50 and still mooching off her parents is terribly ominous. I just know that whether it comes from me or from Gary, talking to her doesn’t matter. You can’t talk a bad parent into being a good one, when they don’t want to be. She is never going to care about the kids’ health, hygiene, or well being, because all she cares about is herself.

Don't be shy! Tell me how great I am. Or not. Share your feelings with the group.

